25 Members Appointed To Smith Trail Council

ANNAPOLIS, Md. (AP) — The secretary of the Interior has appointed 25 members to the Captain John Smith Chesapeake National Historic Trail Advisory Council.

The council, established in 2008, will consult with the secretary and the National Park Service on trail management,
recreation opportunities and public access. Members serve two-year terms.

Delaware, Maryland and Virginia are represented on the council, as are wildlife, environmental and other government organizations.

American Indians are also represented.

John J. Reynolds, former deputy director of the National Park Service, will serve as chairman of the council.

The trail, extending about 3,000 miles on the Bay and tributaries, follows the routes of John Smith’s exploratory voyages in 1607-1609.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

  • Raymond

    Not bad. They established a council 3 years ago and now they finally put 25 peolple on said council. I wonder how much money has been spent in the interim on this project that we are not being aware of.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Track Weather On The Go With Our App!

Listen Live