REISTERSTOWN, Md. (AP) — Federal aid is being made available to support recovery efforts in Baltimore and Baltimore County following Hurricane Irene.

The Maryland Emergency Management Agency and the Federal Emergency Management Agency announced Tuesday that the city and county would be added to list of Maryland jurisdictions that were declared a disaster area for public assistance.

The disaster declaration also includes the counties of Calvert, Caroline, Charles, Dorchester, Harford, Kent, Queen Anne’s, Somerset, St. Mary’s, Talbot, Wicomico and Worcester.

Local governments and certain nonprofit groups can apply for funding for emergency services related to the hurricane, including debris removal and repair and replacement of roads, bridges, buildings and other facilities.

Under the program, FEMA will fund 75 percent of the cost for eligible repair work.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

  1. HA HA HA says:

    Iaree baltimore city is and will always be a disaster area

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE