WASHINGTON (AP) — The National Symphony Orchestra in Washington plans to tour through five countries in Latin America this summer in its first international tour under music director Christoph Eschenbach.

The orchestra announced Tuesday that its “America’s Tour” would begin June 13 in Mexico City. It will also include concerts in Trinidad and Tobago, Argentina, Uruguay and Brazil. The tour through June 27 will include eight concerts across five countries.

Executive Director Rita Shapiro says the National Symphony’s international touring history began in South America about 50 years ago.

During its tour, the orchestra will perform a new work by American composer Sean Shepherd entitled “Blue Blazes.” Musicians also will give master classes in Mexico, Trinidad and Tobago and Brazil.

(Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE