ANNAPOLIS, Md. (AP) — Four connecting river trails will be designated as historic components of the Captain John Smith Chesapeake National Historic Trail at a ceremony.

Interior Secretary Ken Salazar will join Maryland Gov. Martin O’Malley and National Park Service Director Jon Jarvis at a ceremony Wednesday at Sandy Point State Park in Annapolis. State, local and tribal leaders will also participate in the ceremony.

The designation is part of President Barack Obama’s America’s Great Outdoors initiative.

Four rivers in five states will be recognized for their significance to 17th century American Indian cultures and trade
routes. The rivers are the Susquehanna, Chester, Upper Nanticoke and Upper James.

The Captain John Smith National Historic Trail allows visitors to re-live John Smith’s exploration of the Chesapeake Bay from 1607 to 1609.

(Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE