ANNAPOLIS, Md. (AP) — Maryland Gov. Martin O’Malley says the White House has approved an individual assistance disaster declaration for people who suffered losses from Superstorm Sandy in Somerset County.

In a news release Friday night, O’Malley said President Barack Obama had approved the declaration for the county. It will make federal funds available to homeowners, renters and business owners who suffered property damages from the storm.

Obama had previously approved O’Malley’s request for a major disaster declaration. However, the Federal Emergency Management Agency denied Maryland’s request for individual disaster assistance.

O’Malley and the state’s congressional delegation had urged the president to approve the declaration for Dorchester, Garrett, Somerset, Wicomico and Worcester counties.

Maryland’s Emergency Management Agency director urged Somerset residents who suffered damages to call the FEMA toll-free number: 800-621-FEMA (3362).

(Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE