BALTIMORE (WJZ) — The winners of the Gold Glove were announced Tuesday and three Orioles made the list. The O’s tied with the Kansas City Royals for the most Golden Glove recipients in the MLB.

Third baseman Manny Machado, center fielder Adam Jones and shortstop J.J. Hardy all won. It’s Machado’s first, Hardy’s second and Jones’ third win.

Catcher Matt Wieters, first baseman Chris Davis and right fielder Nick Markakis also made the finals.

The O’s are the first AL team since the 2002-03 Mariners to win at least three Gold Gloves in consecutive seasons (Hardy, Jones and Wieters won in 2012). 2013 marks the 19th time the Orioles have had multiple Gold Glove winners in the same season, and their second consecutive season with three recipients (Hardy, Jones and Wieters won in 2012). It is the 10th time in club history the Orioles have had at least three players win a Gold Glove in the same season (also 2012, 1998, ’76, ’75, ’74, ’73, ’71, ’70 and ’69).

Seventeen different Orioles players have earned a total of 67 Gold Gloves since the award was created in 1957, the second-highest total for any team (St. Louis – 84) and the most in the American League. The New York Yankees have 64 Gold Gloves in franchise history and the next closest team, the Cincinnati Reds, have won 53 Gold Glove Awards.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS Baltimore

Track Weather On The Go With Our App!
CBS All Access

Watch & Listen LIVE