BALTIMORE (AP) — Mercyhurst captured its first Division II national lacrosse title Sunday, beating Adelphi 9-8 on four goals from junior midfielder Ian Wild, the game’s Most Outstanding Player.

Junior attackman Kyle Kallay added two goals and sophomore attackman Brian Scheetz had a goal and three assists in helping lift Mercyhurst (17-2) to the first national title in the program’s 15-year history. The Lakers lost to Le Moyne in the 2007 final on a last-second shot.

Junior attackman Joe Vitale had three goals and two assists for Adelphi (13-3), which was in the finals for the first time since winning its seventh national championship in 2001.

Junior midfielder Kieran Riegel and junior attackman Danny Blau added two goals apiece for the Panthers, who lost despite winning 16 of 21 faceoffs.

Kallay and Trevor Rice scored extra-man goals during a 4-0 run that gave Mercyhurst a 7-4 lead at the 10:08 mark of the third quarter. Adelphi outscored Mercyhurst 4-2 the rest of the way and got within one on a no-look flip shot by Blau with 6:29 remaining in the fourth period.

Mercyhurst stalled away more than two minutes before Adelphi regained possession to get one last opportunity to tie. However, Riegel’s 5-yard shot with 2 seconds left was saved by Mercyhurst goalie Zach Nash.

Eric Janssen made 13 saves for Adelphi, which committed 15 turnovers and was just 9 for 14 clearing the ball.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)