The Academy of Country Music (ACM) has announced the names of the eight semi-finalists for the fan-voted New Artist of the Year category at the upcoming 49th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards.

This year’s list features Lee BriceBrett EldredgeTyler FarrJustin MooreKip MooreKacey MusgravesThomas Rhett and Parmalee.

READ MORE: Man Shot In Joppatowne Saturday, Sheriff's Office Says

This year’s New Artist of the Year award reflects the Academy’s decision to absorb all newcomer categories from past years (New Male Vocalist, New Female Vocalist, and New Vocal Duo or Group) into a single category.

As in years past, this award will be fan-voted, and fans will vote in two rounds. The first round of voting begins Tuesday, Jan. 21 at noon ET and runs through Tuesday, Feb. 4 at 3pm ET. Visit to cast your vote.

Fan votes from this round will then be combined with the ACM professional membership vote to determine the final three nominees for the award. Those top nominees will then move on to compete in the final round of voting. 

READ MORE: Maryland Weather: A Cold Front Is Headed Toward Baltimore

Nominees for other categories at this year’s ACM Awards have not yet been announced but are expected in the coming weeks.



MORE NEWS: Man Found Dead Near His Walker On Anne Arundel County Roadway Saturday, Police Say