BALTIMORE (WJZ) — The 2016 edition of MLB’s Home Run Derby will take place live from PETCO Park in San Diego, California tonight at 8 p.m. on ESPN.

The Home Run Derby is a single-elimination tournament. The rules were changed last year, with each player receiving a five-minute session per round as opposed to the old, untimed system where the batters had a designated number of outs.

The clock stops with each home run hit during the final minute, and batters can gain additional time if they hit the ball far enough.

Orioles’ right fielder, Mark Trumbo, leads the majors with 28 home runs and will be the derby’s No. 1 seed.

Here are the matchups:

No. 1 Mark Trumbo vs. No. 8 Corey Seager
No. 2 Todd Frazier vs. No. 7 Carlos Gonzalez
No. 3 Adam Duvall vs. No. 6 Wil Myers
No. 4 Robinson Cano vs. No. 5 Giancarlo Stanton



Leave a Reply