ANNAPOLIS, Md. (AP) — A panel of Maryland state lawmakers voted Monday to recommend Del. Dereck Davis to become the state’s next treasurer.

The Special Joint Legislative Committee to Select the State Treasurer voted 10-0 for Davis, a Prince George’s County Democrat who has been the House Economic Matters chairman.

READ MORE: Ravens Re-Sign CB Kevon Seymour For 2022

The panel heard from four candidates who are seeking the position before voting on the recommendation. The other three candidates are Jorge Cortes, Joseph Zimmerman and John Douglass.

READ MORE: Some Struggle With Power Outages After Winter Storm Pelts Baltimore Region

All four names will be submitted to the Maryland General Assembly, which is scheduled to vote on selecting a new treasurer during a special session of the legislature, which is convening next week for a special session on redistricting to create a new congressional map.

The treasurer’s office is becoming vacant with the retirement of Nancy Kopp.

MORE NEWS: Mayor Scott, Volunteers Pack 50K COVID-19 Tests, 40K Masks For Baltimore City Schools

The treasurer holds one of three seats on the state’s powerful Board of Public Works. The treasurer also leads several key state boards and financial planning committees, including the Maryland State Retirement and Pension Systems.

CBS Baltimore Staff