BALTIMORE (WJZ) — Public hours are changing drastically at the Bromo Seltzer Arts Tower, the Baltimore Office of Promotion & the Arts announced Friday night.

Moving forward, the tower will be open to visitors on the second weekend of every month, shifting from every Saturday.

READ MORE: Maryland Gas Tax Hikes 7 Cents Friday, Gov. Hogan Calls For Another Tax Holiday

On open weekends, visitors can tour Friday evening from 4 p.m. to 8 p.m. and Saturday from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m., during which time guests can learn more about the historical building and visit the galleries, artist studios and museum. Admission is free.

The dates for public hours this year are now:

  • Friday, July 8 and Saturday, July 9
  • Friday, August 12 and Saturday, August 13
  • Friday, September 9 and Saturday, September 10
  • Friday, October 14 and Saturday, October 15
  • Friday, November 11 and Saturday, November 12
  • Friday, December 9 and Saturday, December 10
READ MORE: Gun Spotted In Driver's Car Before Baltimore Officer Dragged, Court Documents Say

The tower, which is on the U.S. National Registry of Historic Places, was inspired by the Palazzo Vecchio in Florence, Italy. It was the tallest building in Baltimore when it was completed in 1911. Now it’s home to 15 floors of artists’ studios.

The clock was recently refurbished in 2017. It houses the largest four-faced gravity clock in the world. For $8, you can take a tour of the clock room and see the inner workings up close.

And yes, the tower is actually named after the medicine. The tower was built by Captain Isaac Emerson, the inventor of the headache remedy Bromo Seltzer.

MORE NEWS: Ex-Baltimore Fiscal Chief Pleads Not Guilty To Fraud, Identity Theft Charges

For more information about exhibits and events at the tower, visit its website.

CBS Baltimore Staff