BALTIMORE (WJZ) — The Baltimore Museum of Art announced this week the addition of six new trustees to its board.

They include Denise Galambos, Lisa Harris Jones, Elizabeth Hurwitz, Sherrilyn Ifill, Stuart O. Simms and James D. Thornton.

READ MORE: Harford County Sheriff's Office Welcomes 1-Year-Old Bluegrass Bloodhound To The Force

The new trustees join Clair Zamoiski Segal, the BMA’s Board Chair, Christopher Bedford, the Dorothy Wagner Wallis Director and 40 other active trustees in leading the BMA.

READ MORE: Nefertiti Griffin Wins WJZ Black History Oratory Competition 2021

The Board of Trustees is responsible for the governance and oversight of the museum.

MORE NEWS: 10-Year-Old Girl, 2 Men Injured In Shooting After Argument Breaks Out In West Baltimore, Police Say

“Our new trustees bring incredible vision and expertise from across the fields of art, philanthropy, law, and business. I know that their commitment to excellence and to the strength of The Baltimore Museum of Art will help ensure our institution’s continued growth and success,” Segal said. “I am delighted to welcome them to the Board and very much look forward to collaborating with them, and our other wonderful trustees, on the museum’s upcoming initiatives.”