Northeast States Form Electric Vehicle Network

BALTIMORE (AP) — Ten states from Massachusetts to Maryland and the District of Columbia are forming a new regional electric vehicle network.

The Northeast Electric Vehicle Network announced Wednesday will work to plan and install charging stations throughout the region as well as attracting investment in clean vehicle infrastructure.

The network is being supported by a nearly $1 million U.S. Department of Energy grant to New York’s Energy Research and Development Authority.

The 10 states are Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont.

President Obama has called for 1 million plug-in vehicles to be on the road nationwide by 2015, and the network hopes to account for 200,000 of those vehicles.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)


More From CBS Baltimore

Track Weather On The Go With Our App!
Your Podcast Network

Listen Live