BALTIMORE (AP) — The Maryland Department of the Environment has issued a drought watch for western and central Maryland, joining most of the Eastern Shore.

The drought watch announced Wednesday covers Garrett, Allegany, Washington, Frederick, Carroll, Harford and Cecil counties, along with the portions of Montgomery, Howard and Baltimore counties that are not served by the Baltimore City or Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission public water systems.

Last month, the department issued a drought watch covering Kent County and all counties below it on the Eastern Shore.

MDE says rainfall in the region for the first four months of the year has been about 64 percent of normal. During a drought watch, the department says it increases monitoring of water supplies as well as encouraging conservation.

(Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE